Shiva Tandav

Lord Shiva is otherwise called Nataraj, the Dancing God. This perfect fine art is performed by Lord Shiva and his heavenly partner Goddess Parvati. The move performed by Lord Shiva is known as Tandava. Shiva's Tandava is an overwhelming move that is the wellspring of the cycle of creation, protection and disintegration. Tandava delineates his fierce nature as the destroyer of the universe.

Qualities of Tandava Dance

As indicated by researchers, 'Attributes of the Tandava Dance' have been depicted in the fourth part of Bharat Muni's Nata Shastra, which is alluded to as fifth Veda and a declaration of Lord Shiva's unceasing move - Tandava. It says that Shiva's Tandava is adorned with 108 karanas and the 32 anghaharas - the composite parts of the move. Bharat Muni additionally says that Lord Shiva imagined the dance, as he was particularly attached to dancing each night. Shiva additionally said that 108 karnas incorporated into tandava could be utilized over the span of dance, battle, and individual battles and in other exceptional developments like walking.

Sorts of Tandava

A few researchers trust that there are seven distinct sorts of Tandava. The tandava performed with satisfaction is called Ananda Tandava and that which is performed in brutal temperament is called Rudra Tandava. Alternate sorts of tandava distinguished are Tripura Tandava, Sandhya Tandava, Samara Tandava, Kaali Tandava, Uma Tandava and Gauri Tandava. Notwithstanding, there are few individuals who trust that there are 16 sorts of Tandava.

Noteworthiness of Shiva?s Tandava Nritya

As per religious researchers, the enormous move of Shiva, called ?Anandatandava,? signifying, 'the Dance of Bliss' symbolizes the infinite cycles of creation and demolition, and in addition the every day rhythm of birth and demise. The move is a pictorial purposeful anecdote of the five guideline signs of interminable vitality - creation, demolition, safeguarding, salvation, and fantasy.

As indicated by learned researcher, Coomerswamy, the move of Shiva likewise speaks to his five exercises to be specific,

•?Shrishti? - creation, development

•?Sthiti? - protection, bolster

•?Samhara? - decimation, advancement

•?Tirobhava? - deception

•?Anugraha? - discharge, liberation, elegance

The general temper of the picture is confusing, joining the internal serenity, and outside action of Shiva.


The move performed by Goddess Parvati is known as Lasya. In Lasya, the developments are delicate, elegant and here and there sensual. A few researchers call Lasya, the female adaptation of Tandava. Lasya is of two sorts - Jarita Lasya and Yauvaka Lasya. As indicated by the Puranas, Shiva moves a wild and incredible (tandava) move in the incineration grounds around evening time however moves a delicate and elegant (lasya) move in the peacefulness of the sundown.